Winners of the 2010 Medway Culture and Design Awards

Creative and Art News

The 2010 winners

Find out who won!

New Media

Winner: Phil Gomm – Making of Medway film

Trophy presented by Medway Council chief executive Neil Davies.


Winner:  Ancient Stones: Untold Stories (Rochester Cathedral)

Highly Commended: No 1 Smithery

Trophy presented by Medway Council cabinet member Cllr Jane Chitty

Fashion and Design

Winner: Myrto Stamou

Highly Commended: Chatham Girl Millinery


Winner: James Taylor

Highly Commended: Under Siege

Trophy presented by Medway Council Deputy Leader, Cllr Alan Jarrett


Winner: Patience Agbabi

Highly Commended: The Tree of Light – Themomentisnow!

Trophy presented by Tracey Crouch MP

Visual Arts

Winner: The Tool Shed – Cathy Miles

Young Achievers’ award: Sam Baylis

High Commended: Le Rêve de Newton (Juan delGado);

Rochester Art Gallery & Craft Case

Trophy presented by Medway Council cabinet member, Cllr Howard Doe

Performing Arts

Winner: Focal Point

Highly Commended: Loop Dance Company; Play on Words

Trophy presented by Emma Wilcox, KCC Arts Development

New Build, sponsored by MHS Homes

Winner: Mid Kent College Campus

Highly Commended: The Quays

Trophy presented by Caroline Proverb from MHS Homes

Heritage Project

Winner: LV21

Highly Commended: No. 1 Smithery

Trophy presented by Chris Lamb, Kent Architecture Centre

Public Realm

Winner: The Quays

Open Spaces

Winner: Hillyfields

Trophy presented by Reh Chischti MP

Best Newcomer, sponsored by Mott MacDonald

Winner: The Deaf Cat

Highly Commended: Chatham Girl Millinery; Icon Theatre; LV21; Myrto Stamou; Nucleus Medway

Trophy presented by Paul Bates from Mott MacDonald

Partnership Working, sponsored by Land Securities

Winner: Medway Park

Highly Commended: Chatham World Heritage Partnership

Trophy presented by Stephen Neal from Land Securities

Outstanding Achievement, sponsored by King’s Rochester

Winner: No. 1 Smithery

Highly Commended: Myrto Stamou

Trophy presented by Jennifer Helm of King’s Rochester

People’s Choice, sponsored by Medway Messenger

Winner: Chatham World Heritage Partnership

Trophy presented by Sarah Clarke from the Medway Messenger

Special recognition

Alan Cherry (posthumous award)

Trophy presented to Guy Lambert by Medway Council leader, Cllr Rodney Chambers

Lifetime Contribution, sponsored by University for the Creative Arts

Winner: James Taylor of the James Taylor Quartet

Trophy presented by the Mayor of Medway, Cllr David Brake

Run by Medway Council and Medway Renaissance, the awards celebrate the thriving cultural sector in the area and the importance of quality and diversity in building and landscape design.

More details can be found at:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s